How do i import subscribers?

Discussion in 'Common issues' started by twisted1919, Dec 28, 2014.

  1. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
    This is a common question and even though the answer is very very simple, for a reason or another, seems that many people get confused on how they can achieve this, so i will illustrate this, step by step with images.

    Step 1: Login as a customer into your application and go to your lists:
    list-import-step-1.png

    Step 2: Click on your list title or on the Info icon for your list (see highlighted section on Step 1) to see the list overview page from which you will click on the Tools box :
    list-import-step-2.png

    Step 3: Click on the Import box:
    list-import-step-3.png

    Step 4: Choose one of the import options depending on the file you need to upload:
    list-import-step-4.png

    That's it, once you select the file, the import will start and your subscribers will be imported into your list.

    Possible issues and fixes:
    1) if you get an error that the file type is not allowed, you can go to Backend -> Settings -> Import/Export and disable mime type checking.
    2) if the app complains that the filesize is too big, go to Backend -> Settings -> Import/Export and increase the allowed size for uploaded files. If the app still complains afterwards, contact your host to alter your PHP configuration and allow bigger files.
    3) if the importing doesn't start, or it dies while processing, then most likely you have set too many Subscribers to process at once from Backend -> Settings -> Import/Export, so make sure you lower down the number to an acceptable one where the server will be able to process the files.
     
  2. 76uk

    76uk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    2
    Hi @twisted1919, I just got a file mime error when I was importing the data.
    Never got such error before but then I got this, and I believe I didn't change anything.
    Works ok now after I disabled mime check from backend settings.
    Any alternative solution rather than disabling mime check?
    Is it better to enable mime check?

    Thanks
     
  3. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
    Hey,

    The alternative is to save your files with a software that sets proper mime types for files, think OpenOffice, LibreOffice or MSOffice.
    If mime type check is disabled, mailwizz looks at extension and checks it against known mime types for that extension, so you should be safe

    Thanks.
     
  4. Palle

    Palle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2015
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    1
    S.E:
    2017-05-07 05:35:40
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    2
    i have tried to import 200 addresses at once. mailwizz confirms that 200 addresses were imported but when i look into the listing it only counts 175. so i made two portions 2 x100 = same thing. it always just import 175. even if it says it was successful. strange. with different address list it does the same.
     
  5. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
    Maybe some of those are blacklisted? (Backend -> Email Blacklist)
     
  6. Dariusz Ciszewski

    Dariusz Ciszewski New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1

    just found it, many thanks for help ;)
     
  7. george

    george New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    thank you so much, please, see the attached file so you can understand my issue.
    i do not have the import box showed when i clicked on the list box
     

    Attached Files:

  8. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
    @george - That's because you are in the dashboard area and you actually have to be in your lists area.
    So create your first list, then click on it's title and you will see it there.
    All this is explained in the above post, step by step. please follow it.
     
  9. george

    george New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    Dear Twisted 1919
    1-Since i bought your script i am struggling to get my email list imported to the software. Can you tell me please, how to import your email list? 2- Also, please, can the software works with facebook emails account. I mean i can use facebook emails accounts of people to build a campaign?
     
  10. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
    Hi @george
    Can you tell me step-by-step what did you try to do in order to import? What is unclear from the above screenshots?
    And yes, facebook emails should work just fine, i don't see why not.
     
  11. george

    george New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    Hi Twisted , i hope you have a good vacation to bring more new stuff in the software!
    my problem is that i have a bunch of contact list on my yahoo contact list and i want to import them to the software so i can use for a campaign but it does not working. it looks like i have first to transfert it on excel or a different file . That where i am stuck. i followed the video but it does not demonstrate what to do in order that yu can transfert data .I follow couple videos on youtube but i am even more confused.
    thank you for your support
     
  12. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
    @george - When you take your contacts from your yahoo list, can you export them in CSV or just excel?
    If it's just Excel, then download the file and open it with an application like OpenOffice / LibreOffice / MS Office and then save the file again, but this time as CSV instead of excel(if asked, use " as enclosure and , as separator). Now that you have a CSV file, you can import it directly in mailwizz.
    Does that make any sense ?
     
  13. george

    george New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    Hi, Twisted
    Thank so much for your great support. and i tried to create a campaign . it still saying "pending -sending". it is now one day so what could be the problem? Also could you provide me with a full documentation on "how to create a campaign". Thank you so muck
     
  14. Rob

    Rob Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2015
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    99
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    Search the forum for "customer manual"
     
  15. george

    george New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    dear friend, i did not see that forum. Please, can you locate it exactly where to find it . I went to forum i did not see the customer manual.
     
  16. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
  17. george

    george New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    Hi Guys, This is a fantastic community.! thank you so much
     
  18. Nelson

    Nelson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    1
    Please check the attachment. i dont have Import box in my user in my customer Tools
     

    Attached Files:

  19. twisted1919

    twisted1919 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    10,176
    Likes Received:
    2,362
    @Nelson - Please check the article again, you are looking in the wrong section. You have to look inside a list overview.
     
  20. Lazaros

    Lazaros Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2016
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    4
    S.E:
    Expired
    L.T:
    Regular
    L.C:
    2
    Hello there,

    I cannot upload an excel sheet with multiple fields. I've tried with every kind of .CSV format but still it doesn't import them correctly because it simply doesn't get exported with commas but with semi colons. I've tried every possible way I've found on the internet (regional settings, changes through advanced options in excel).
    So my question is.. is there any chance of adding more options in the future except .CSV Mac? or making it recognize semi colons (; )as well?

    Thank you in advance.
     

Share This Page