Rate limiting - Mailwizz vs PMTA setting

bguy

Hey folks. Pretty new to all this but jumping in at the deep end :)

I would like to know people's opinions on rate limiting, whether this should be done at PowerMTA level or at Mailwizz level. I am wanting to warm up IPs so ideally I will follow this:

https://sendgrid.com/docs/assets/IPWarmupSchedule.pdf

Am I right in thinking it really makes no difference where I set the rate limit?

@bguy - Best is to set the limit at MTA level, that's the right place. Mailwizz can do it too, but the mta will always do it better and faster.

P.S: Welcome :)

@twisted1919 Thanks for the quick reply :) I will have a look at doing it via the MTA level - it's a bit of a pain because I am a noob with PMTA lol. Just want to say Mailwizz kicks Interspire into the gutter. I hated using that rubbish!

Edit: Just to add, if Mailwizz sends out 10k emails but the MTA is rate limited, will the MTA just back up the sending queue whilst it sends out emails at the rate defined?

@twisted1919 Thanks for the quick reply :) I will have a look at doing it via the MTA level - it's a bit of a pain because I am a noob with PMTA lol. Just want to say Mailwizz kicks Interspire into the gutter. I hated using that rubbish!

Edit: Just to add, if Mailwizz sends out 10k emails but the MTA is rate limited, will the MTA just back up the sending queue whilst it sends out emails at the rate defined?
It all goes into the MTA queue, so mwz can offload as fast as possible (as fast as your whole setup allows), from there the MTA works it off as per the config ;)

@bguy - Thanks for the kind words :)
As far as i know about pmta, and there are lots of pmta experts on this form ( see this ) so you can ask them too, is that the mta will queue all the messages that mailwizz can send and then will make sure it will send them at a proper pace. usually, mta will be able to accept emails at a higher rate than the email is able to send to it.