How to clean global Blacklist without re-confirming unsubscribed users?

Niko

Active Member
Hello @twisted1919 ,

right now when deleting emails from the global blacklist in admin panel, they get re-confirmed across all accounts, even in lists they've previously unsubscribed from.

As the global blacklist grows bigger, and soft bounces can always get in there, we would need to clean it a bit but it's impossibile to know if we're reconfirming unsubscribed users in the process.
Is there any advice about how to do this?

Maybe by manually exporting and re-importing some DB tables after cleaning the global blacklist, so the unsubscribed users remain there? Could this work?
 

frm.mwz

Well-Known Member
right now when deleting emails from the global blacklist in admin panel, they get re-confirmed across all accounts, even in lists they've previously unsubscribed from
That's odd, was the subscriber status (subscribed, unsubscribed, blacklisted, unconfirmed, etc) not supposed to stay so unless changed by specific action?
 

Niko

Active Member
That's odd, was the subscriber status (subscribed, unsubscribed, blacklisted, unconfirmed, etc) not supposed to stay so unless changed by specific action?
Maybe deleting emails from the global blacklist counts as action, as it actually re-confirms every email you remove from there.
The problem is that it doens't take into account unsubscribed users, and that's a problem if some addressess are included in many lists and usubscribed from some of them, or if you share lists between different accounts.

We actually got some complains because users were being re-subscribed to all lists every time, so now we don't delete people from the global blacklist but we also can't clean it anymore.
Are there any solutions for this?
 

frm.mwz

Well-Known Member
Maybe deleting emails from the global blacklist counts as action, as it actually re-confirms every email you remove from there.
The problem is that it doens't take into account unsubscribed users, and that's a problem if some addressess are included in many lists and usubscribed from some of them, or if you share lists between different accounts.

We actually got some complains because users were being re-subscribed to all lists every time, so now we don't delete people from the global blacklist but we also can't clean it anymore.
Are there any solutions for this?
Sounds like a bug, can u look into this @twisted1919 ?
 

twisted1919

Administrator
Staff member
I haven't look into it yet, for me the behavior right now is acceptable. Once an email is in blacklist it means it's place is there. If you then remove it from blacklist it means you know what you're doing.
if you want them removed from blacklist without side effects, just do it from database directly.
 

Niko

Active Member
I haven't look into it yet, for me the behavior right now is acceptable. Once an email is in blacklist it means it's place is there. If you then remove it from blacklist it means you know what you're doing.
if you want them removed from blacklist without side effects, just do it from database directly.

Problem is, good emails can (and will) go in the global blacklist. When this happens, deleting them from the database is not very useful since they're not re-confirmed. In this case, deleting them from the admin panel is the most correct and useful way to go.

The global blacklist behaviour right now is correct, except for one thing: it re-subscribes people. This is a little but very nasty problem.
Do you think it would be possibile to add a check, to tell the platform to NOT re-subscribe people with status "unsubscribed"?
Or, alternatively, to not change the status in "blacklisted", if current status of the email is "unsubscribed"?

Do you think it would be feasible?
 

frm.mwz

Well-Known Member
Perhaps this as pop-up text:
"Deleting email addresses from the global blacklist will reconfirm those subscribers if their current status is blacklisted."
 
Top