Old 10k list uses high CPU, new 40k list uses low CPU

mwizz98

I have an old list with 10k subscribers, when I send to it, CPU usage goes to 100%, and it sends 3k emails/hour, which is slower than the configuration settings.

I have a new list with 40k subscribers, when I send to it, CPU usage remains under 50%, and it sends at 10k emails/hour, and I can send even faster if I wanted.

Everything is on the same server, and is using the same settings and the same delivery server. The only difference is the list being sent to.

The process eating up the cpu time is mysqld.

I archived most campaigns of the old list, but it didn't seem to make a difference.

Before making any changes to the configuration of MySQL I wanted to post this here and get some thoughts on why this is happening. Thank you.

Last edited:
Hello,
Are you sending to the full list, or are you using some segments of the list?

Cosmin

Thank you for your answer. I will send out another campaign in a couple of days and I'll keep an eye on the stats and report back if there is any problem.

While we're on this subject, I'd like to get your thoughts on console.php. I have everything instrumented in New Relic and I noticed that console.php takes a very long time. See charts below (the first chart shows clock time, not cpu):

mw-nr1.JPG

mw-nr2.JPG

When digging deeper into the trace details of slow transactions, we can see the component causing this:

mw-nr3.JPG

There are no campaigns sending, very little traffic, very low cpu utilization, basically nothing going on in Mailwizz. Any thoughts on that? Thank you.

Hello,
That is the queue running. The queue is used for different tasks across the application, like exporting/importing subscribers, etc. It is running every minute and the fact that is not using any CPU is because maybe it has nothing to process at that time.

Cosmin